Oh hey, Halloween is almost here.

Given the fact I’ve written a horror/thriller/mystery novel one would assume I would be on top of things when the witching hour approaches. This is not the case. I suppose Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel has eaten up a good amount of my time in the last week among other activities. I’d say going to the gym regularly is also a necessary activity that deserves to be added to my daily routine.

Earlier this month I had the opportunity to go and speak to several fourth grade classes about the importance of reading and writing, along with giving some general information about the writing and publishing process. Needless to say during the first three or four minutes I thought I was going to pass out and end up crushing a child as I felt so very, very light-headed but after that initial bout of stage-fright I was on a roll. I have to admit though, I was pleasantly surprised at how eager they were to talk about writing and I was blown away when one of the kids in the class wrote a twenty-three page short story. That is no small feat, especially for a fourth grader, and for comparison the longest short story I wrote back in the day was fifteen pages, I believe, and it was for a creative writing class that only wanted a four page maximum. It was an amazing experience and I would love the opportunity to do it again or talk to other classes as well.

It was, however, awkward when the children wanted details about my book. Thankfully one of the teachers had my back and informed them it was the kind of book their parents would read. Between you and me though I think I was watching and reading some screwed up stuff back when I was a kid and I don’t think that had any adverse effects. I watched “Dead Alive” when I was that age so bring it!

All in all it was a sobering experience. In the few classes I talked with I saw so much potential and imagination that I had no clue existed. The teachers were so welcoming and helped add to the discussion. It was a great time.

With any luck I’ll have something Halloween related here in the next coming days, maybe even tonight, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

